Indonesia Removes Covid Testing for Domestic Travelers
  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments
  • Post author:
  • Post published:11/03/2022
  • Post last modified:11/03/2022

In a major shift since the pandemic began, Indonesia removed the need for domestic travelers to present a negative Covid-19 test before boarding, officials announced Tuesday.

According to Decree Number 11, 2022 regarding “Travel Requirements For Domestic Travelers During Pandemic,” Indonesian authorities have officially removed PCR and antigen testing requirements for fully vaccinated travelers, confirmed Alexander K Ginting, the Head of Health Support for the National Covid-19 Handling Task Force

This update to the norm covers all transportation systems, including public and private means of transport on land, sea, and air.

Those who have only received one dose of a Covid-19 vaccine must nevertheless provide a negative PCR test three days prior to departure or an antigen test one day prior to arrival.

Bali, the popular resort destination, has also made significant announcements. For starters, fully vaccinated passengers no longer need to quarantine upon arrival from March 7.

bali airplane landing

Only people who can present a booster certificate are eligible for this non-quarantine “trial.”

They must still show proof of accommodation for at least four days and agree to “some” PCR tests.

“If the [first test] shows negative results, international travelers will be allowed to do other activities under health protocols,” an Indonesian official said, adding that visitors should also undergo another PCR test on the third day of their stay.

To benefit from the non-quarantine rule, Indonesians will have to show proof of having a residence on the island, said Panjaitan, who is also coordinator of the public mobility restrictions (PPKM) policy for Java and Bali.

Starting March 7, the island started granting visas on arrival to international visitors from 23 countries including Australia, the United States, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Qatar, Canada, and the United Arab Emirates among others.

Leave a Reply